Endlich wieder in Deutschland

After last weekend’s fiasco, I am now in Marburg, Germany with about thirty other Fulbrighters for the next month or so. We’re here to take a language course, and I have been happily reunited with Apfelschorle, Schoko-Muesli, and huge bottles of cheap carbonated water. From what I can tell, the idea of “coffee to go” has really taken off since I was last in Germany, for which I am endlessly grateful.

I’m getting on a plane!

Marburg’s claim to fame is that it is home to the Phillipps-Universitat Marburg, the oldest Protestant university in the world and our hosts for the next few weeks. If you know your German geography, it is in Hessen—about an hour’s train ride north of Frankfurt. People come to Marburg to see the Elisabethkirche; it was the first gothic hall church (with a triple-apse choir, if you are really interested) to be built in Germany. The Grimm Brothers apparently made a few stops here, as did my man Martin Luther. There’s also a castle on the hill opposite from my dorm, and that’s on my agenda for this weekend.

Old-school picture of the Elisabethkirche courtesy of Google images.

Last night, a group of us climbed the hill up to what we’ve been referring to as the “Rapunzel Tower”. According to my Marburg brochure, its official name is the “Kaiser Wilhelm Turm/Spiegelslustturm”. The last few days have been warm, but it’s been so beautiful that its hard to spend any time inside…especially when being inside involves talking about indirect address and the nuances of Konjunktiv I and II.

Enough grammar gripes–here’s a picture of a pretty hill!

The “Rapunzel Tower”. We did not let down our hair, but we did head straight for the beer garden that’s about five minutes from here.

I like you, Germany.

So, all is well here in Marburg. If you need me, I’ll be climbing hills, refreshing my grammar, eating Auflauf, and desperately trying to find a place to live in Munich!

2 thoughts on “Endlich wieder in Deutschland

  1. My knowledge of Marburg just grew by several increments (however knowledge of Marburg is measured these days). Thank you! Unfortunately most of my Germany knowledge has a distinct learning-to-be-a-Lutheran-pastor angle on it, so I think of Marburg as the place where Luther and Zwingli debated the real presence. Does anything in modern Marburg mark the meeting between Luther and Zwingli?

    Glad you made it safely to Germany finally, and we’re looking forward to following your adventures!

    • I’m not sure, but there is a museum in the Schloss where the colloquy took place and I have plans to visit before I leave, so I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

