This Was Originally Titled “In Defense of Winter”

Y’all? I think I hate winter.

But, you might say, “Rachel, winter is when all sorts of happy things happen! Christmas! Ice skating! You don’t have to sweat just from walking out of your house! It’s socially acceptable to wear lots of clothes! Warm food tastes so good!”

Whatevs.

I’m not a peppy person. I’ll never win any awards for being the most energetic person in the room, but lately, I haven’t wanted to leave my bed. I’ve been working longer hours because 1) classes are over for the semester and 2) if I’m not at work, there’s an excellent chance I’m curled up in my bed watching 30 Rock. I’ve had to bribe myself to go on the few runs I have (18 miles total in January, holla–not), and I’ve bailed on plans with friends in favor of instead spending the night with my hot water bottle.

I blame all of this on the fact that Germany is somehow even more disgustingly, bone-chillingly, soul-crushingly cold than all of the Midwestern winters I’ve weathered in my day.

Kristin is not as optimistic as I about the odds of my new hat blocking all of the soul-killing cold this country has to offer.

Kristin is not as optimistic as I about the odds of my new hat blocking all of the joy-killing cold this country has to offer.

That’s all, folks. Regular programming will resume when temperatures approach a liveable level.

2 thoughts on “This Was Originally Titled “In Defense of Winter”

  1. Is the cowl helping? Sorry to hear about the cold, but it is hard to sympathize, as we have had below zero wind chills today too! My wool sweater, coat and scarf were awesome!!
    When all else fails, make soup!
    love you, mom

Leave a Reply

